Executive Summary

General elections will be held in South Africa on 8 May 2019 to elect a new National Assembly and provincial legislatures in each province.

The elections will also determine the next President of South Africa.

A record 48 parties have registered candidates for the national parliamentary elections.

Incumbent President Cyril Ramaphosa of the ruling African National Congress is expected to retain a majority status for his party and therefore the Presidency

Civil unrest may occur IVO polling stations and official party buildings, particularly in the Limpopo and Kwazulu-Natal provinces.

Subscribe to our mailing list to unlock this content.